Where I’ve been – Philippine Edition

I’ve been thinking a lot about where I’ve been.  I will soon be 30.  When I was young, I had elaborate dreams of traveling.  It got me to thinking how much I really miss the Philippines.  I saw this website, Lakbayan, and I inputed the places I remember having visited during my life in the Philippines (from 1981 through 2004, when I left for the US).  It yielded an interesting result – a C!

I really need to improve on this grade.  Maybe in the next few years, I’ll be able to save up the funds to do some serious traveling.  My 3 target places would be Palawan, Banaue Rice Terraces, and Mt Pinatubo

Though I wouldn’t mind re-visiting my favorite places in the Philippines – Bohol, Boracay, Tagaytay, and Batanes

And of course, I wouldn’t pass up the chance to really stay in two places – UP- Diliman and Iloilo.  These places have given me so many fond memories.  I realize I’m extremely fond of these places because of the food.  I really believe Iloilo has the best food.  Peppy Thai Deli in Jaro / Ted’s Lapaz Batchoy /  Tibs Rock / Elizabeth in Dumangas (fresh seafood) / Magpatao-hay in San Joaquin / Breakthrough and Tatoy’s in Villa / Buco Pie in Oton / Biscocho House / Afriques Pasta / Shellsyd Burger.  I could go on.  Of course, this is home for me.  My mouth waters.

And UP?  I spent 5 years there.   The university had really great cafeterias, offering diverse choices.  And the environs had varied offerings.  There’s Rodic’s in SC, Chocolate Kiss Cafe in Bahay ng Alumni, Beach House near the Main Libe, AS Canteen, Law Canteen, Burritos in UP Teacher’s Village, Ihaw1 and the Shawarma Stand in Philcoa, Mang Jimmy’s, Lutong Bahay and Lutong Kapit-bahay, and of course – the ever memorable Isaw and Fishballs (I still think the best one is in front of Kalayaan).  I’m sure I’ve missed a few more establishments, and I’m not even sure if some of these places still exist as of today.  But those tastes and smells and experiences, and the wonderful company of friends – those are still vivid in my mind.

Sheer nostalgic bliss.


My Lakbayan grade is C!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.

Leave a Reply

