Listening: Playlist of 2010

Jogging today  (desperately trying to burn off the Thanksgiving binge),  I realized that 2010 has been a pretty good year for music, and decided to mine my iTunes playlist and Amazon MP3 downloads for the songs that I’ve played the most throughout the year.  I came up with this list.  In no particular order:

1.  “To the Sky” by Owl City

This came from the movie, Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole. I love the feel of this song when it played in the credits.  And it was a good film.

2.  “Smile“by Uncle Kracker

I remember that earworm of a song, “Follow Me” from years back.  And this promises to follow that tradition.

3.  “King of Anything” by Sara Bareilles

This album is just amazing.  I could listen to it all day.  It brings me to my happy place.  Listen to it.  You’ll know what I mean.  And check out this cover by Sam Tsui:

4.  “Rhythm of Love” by Plain White T’s

A bit reminiscent of “Hey There Delilah”.  But I loved that song.  Enough said.

5.  “Thinking of You” by Christian Kane

I first heard this song in one of my favorite TV Series, Leverage.  There was that scene wherein Elliott, the character played by Christian Kane, pretended to be a country singer for one of their cons.  The team fully planned to autotune the character’s voice, but Elliott caught his teammates by surprise with his “hidden talent”, and sang the heck out of this song.

Of course, there’s the following songs:

  • “Love the Way You Lie” by Eminem and Rihanna
  • “Pyramid” by Charice and Iyaz
  • “Raise Your Glass” by Pink
  • “Just the Way You Are” and “Grenade” Bruno Mars
  • “F— You” by Cee Lo Green
  • “California Girls”, “Teenage Dream” and “Firework” by Katy Perry
  • “Hey, Soul Sister” by Train (I saw Train’s collaboration with Martina McBride on CMT Crossroads – it was amazing!)
  • “Billionaire” by Travie McCoy and Bruno Mars
  • “Airplanes” by BoB and Hayley Williams of Paramore
  • “For The Summer” by Ray LaMontagne and the Pariah Dogs
  • “Kings and Queens” by 30 Seconds to Mars
  • “Loved by You” by Jake Coco
  • “At or With Me” by Jack Johnson

I realize for the most part, these are mainstream songs, and some are a bit overplayed (especially when they’re covered by the Glee Cast).

I do listen to the radio a lot with long commutes.  But these songs are a good mix of fun, sad, romantic, sentimental, angry.  Just plain feel-good listens.

The videos I embedded yielded from a basic Youtube search of the song titles (some might not even play unless you click the linked video).   No copyright infringement intended.

Here’s to hoping 2011 will rock just as much!

Leave a Reply

