Brookdale Park and getting back to running

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There was a Ziggy comic strip that I remember, where he says something like “The best way to put a spring into your step is to step into spring.”  I can’t remember the exact quote, but that’s my takeaway.

It’s been a while since I last ran/jogged.  I blame it on the winter slump, when the days are too short, and the weather conditions are cold, wet, snowy, windy, or down right miserable.  Also, I’ve never really got into the idea of running in a gym or on a treadmill.  I think nothing beats the outdoors.

Plus there’s the busy tax season, that barely just ended.  Exhausting days and late nights don’t make it conducive to exercise.

But last weekend, I attempted to reboot my running, with a 7.67 mile run on Saturday, and a 5.68 mile jog/walk on Sunday.  Now, I’m achy all over, and I have my first blisters of the season.

But man, just look at those paths. They’re just begging to be jogged on.  I’ve loved running in Brookdale Park.  I think it’s been instrumental in my attempts at trying to lose weight and be healthier.  Although sometimes, struggling to catch my breath up the hilly sections remind me of how unathletic I am.

The great thing about the park is that there are lots of paths to run on, and it has a lot of features – a rubberized running track, soccer fields, baseball pits, tennis courts, playgrounds, a dog park and an archery range(!)  And there are trees all over.

Anyhow, cheers to warmer weather.   I really hope I can keep this up.